Republic of Croatia presides over the Committee on Tourism and Sustainability of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)

The Republic of Croatia has been a member of UNWTO since 1993 and participates actively in its work as a member of numerous technical committees. During the 24th committee of the Management Board on 30 November 2021, the Republic of Croatia took over the presidency of the Committee on Tourism and Sustainability - CTS, for the period of 2021- 2023

UNWTO is a specialized agency of the United Nations established with the goal of monitoring, regulating and developing global tourism, and its mission is to promote the development of a responsible, sustainable and universally acceptable tourism.

The Committee on Tourism and Sustainability is the subsidiary body of the UNWTO Executive Council, and its main role is to monitor the implementation of the work programme called “Sustainable tourism development”, help the UNWTO Secretariat in the mentioned implementation, and to report and make recommendations to the Executive Council and other bodies of the Organisation when needed.
With the work done through the Committee, the Republic of Croatia, together with the UNWTO Secretariat, participates in the preparation of the Committee's programme and proposes subjects. Some of the subjects the Committee will emphasise in the upcoming period include:
  • accelerating the progress towards the development of low-carbon tourism by reinforcing measurements and identifying CO2 emission in the air.
  • UNGA reports,
  • a network of observatories for sustainable tourism within the framework of the International Network of Sustainable Tourism Observatories INSTO (Croatian Sustainable Tourism Observatory CROSTO operates in Croatia) and
  • transferring to circular economy to reach sustainable development of tourism ( Global Tourism Plastics Initiative, Global Roadmap for Food Loss and Waste Management in Tourism).
Members of the Committee (2019 - 2023) are: 1. Algeria, 2. Angola, 3. Bhutan, 4. Croatia, 5. Egypt, 6. El Salvador, 7. Honduras, 8. Philippines and 9. Serbia, and the Committee’s work is regularly monitored by selected representatives of joint members.

You can find more detailed information about the work of the Committee on Tourism and Sustainability here.